Author Topic: Exciting but daunting times ahead???  (Read 7486 times)

New Boy

Exciting but daunting times ahead???
« on: June 17, 2005, 14:57:35 »
Hello everyone,
as my nick name suggests I am brand new to this site and the whole allotment malarky. So new in fact I havent even got a plot yet.
For at least 10 years I have been wanting to "grow my own" today I phoned my local borough council and found out there are many vacancies at a site only two minutes drive away. I am awaiting an e mail including a plan of the site so I can pick a plot. Full size plots are 90 x 30 feet and half 50 x 20 feet. It was such a nice surprise to find out the prices. £28 and £14.
But what do I do? Is a full size plot going to be too big for a COMPLETE BEGINNER?
Do I get a full size plot and only use half to start with and then as I become more established and proficient use the rest?
I've been down to see the site and it seems very large but only a few plots are in use. The rest just looks like a meadow with grass at knee height! Perhaps a full size plot will be too big just for me with occasional help from my wife.
I want to try growing the usual easy stuff to start with. I also want to stay as organic as possible.
Blimey where do I start once Ive picked a plot?
Blimey how do I pick a plot whats an ideal position?

Well sorry about the post full of questions but by joining this forum it seems like the first commitment towards owning and working an allotment.

Robert_Brenchley

• Hectare
    • My blog
Re: Exciting but daunting times ahead???
« Reply #1 on: June 17, 2005, 15:12:39 »
Depends how much time you want to put into it. A full-size plot is perfectly manageable with planning; black plastic half of it, work the other half this year, then extend your operations next year.

westsussexlottie

• Acre
« Reply #2 on: June 17, 2005, 15:19:33 »
Grow lots of easy stuff. On a big plot you get lots more weeds as well as lots more veg.