Author Topic: grey creatures on my sprouting brocoli  (Read 2187 times)

x1sjwebster

• Not So New ...
grey creatures on my sprouting brocoli
« on: June 07, 2005, 21:46:13 »
Hi
I have just been out in the garden and noticed that some of my sprouting brocoli leaves were tightly curled up had a look and they seem to be alive with some form of egg or mould lots of grey mouldy looking eggs on the leaves this is my first year growing veg and i was hoping to stay as organic as humanly possible what have i been infested with there are also loads of ants around the plants that have been infected the plants pulled up out of the ground very easily and do not seem to have much of a root on them.
let me know what to do if anyone has any idea should have taken a picture but have burnt the affected plants to be on the safe side
thanks

weedin project

• Acre
  • twig > leaf > flower > fruit > juice > WINE!!!
Re: grey creatures on my sprouting brocoli
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2005, 22:41:18 »
Sorry but "grey mouldy" I don't think I can help with, but ants and minimal roots I can confirm both go together.
Ants will nibble the roots and leave your plants weakened.  I have treated ants with powder in the past with limited success, but the biological ant-remover aka H2O seems to work pretty well.  I've found the ants particularly successful in the greenhouse bed and under our bird bath - both places where there is not a lot of naturally occurring moisture.  I shifted a load of ants from a greenhouse bed simply by watering it copiously and regularly.  Funnily enough the sorry-looking spinach I was growing there really bucked up as a result.  Beware waterlogging by over-watering and creating damp-induced problems though, vegetable-growing life is a delicate and rarely perfect balancing act!
Sad to say, I think the plants you have thrown away that the ants had been at might well have survived and thrived once the little beasties were sorted.