Author Topic: How do I grow potatoes total newb question  (Read 4591 times)

Paulines7

• Hectare
Re: How do I grow potatoes total newb question
« Reply #20 on: March 12, 2010, 11:15:56 »
Invasion, if your potatoes have grown long white shoots whilst in their bag, it would be better to rub them off before chitting.  When the shoots come through they should be green, like those shown in the pictures below.  I put mine in a light place when chitting but not in direct sun.  Please don't ask me why!  Here are some pictures:

Robert_Brenchley

• Hectare
    • My blog
« Reply #21 on: March 12, 2010, 13:50:05 »
If they're well buried, the frost won't reach them. No way are we going to get the ground frozen deeply now. They'll sit till the ground warms up. If a frost threatens after they emerge, you can cover them. I never bother, I've never had really serious damage, and the root system is unharmed so they grow back really fast.

invasion

• Not So New ...
« Reply #22 on: March 12, 2010, 14:41:21 »
Invasion, if your potatoes have grown long white shoots whilst in their bag, it would be better to rub them off before chitting.  When the shoots come through they should be green, like those shown in the pictures below.  I put mine in a light place when chitting but not in direct sun.  Please don't ask me why!  Here are some pictures:

Thanks for posting those pictures much appreciated. I have picked off some of the roots I hope that was the right thing to do ? as they had then coming out all over. does it matter that you can see White potato where I have picked the root off.

will plant tomorrow I think..as asked earlier can I plant them and bring them in each night to the shed to avoid frost??

I went and got two potato bags to plant in today and some Westlands organic Vegtable growing compost & organic Potato & Vegtable feed are these the right choice ??

And finally my last question I think...well for now  ;D do I keep potatoes from this season from my seed potatoes next ??