Author Topic: Stuff that I can compost?  (Read 3817 times)

dtw

• Hectare
  • What grows, You decide!
    • Classic & Cheesy TV adverts and other funny stuff
Stuff that I can compost?
« on: January 11, 2007, 18:46:03 »
Hi, I'm a newbie called Dave, I'm hoping to get an allotment soon.
I'm starting off with making some compost in my garden.

Just a couple of quickies!

I know most vegetable matter can be composted,
but what about paper if it's shredded?
I know some slugs will eat it, but will it decompose properly.
Will the ink (and chalk in the paper) have any detrimental effect on the plants?

I'm cutting a load of ivy off my fences too, is that any good to put in,
or would the stems be too thick?
or should I just put the leaves in?

Thanks.

triffid

• Hectare
  • Escaped... usually to my plot in NW London :)
Re: Stuff that I can compost?
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2007, 19:06:03 »
Hi there!

Here's a really helpful page for you to trawl through, which answers most if not all of your 'what can I compost?' queries... 

http://www.bristol-city.gov.uk/ccm/content/Environment-Planning/Rubbish-waste-and-recycling/composting---frequently-asked-questions.en;jsessionid=EF7559B952DCE3986E86052FE2572580

cornykev

• Hectare
  • Sunny Cheshunt just outside North London
« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2007, 20:09:12 »
Hi Dave and welcome as you said veggie peels, tea bags, nettles, shredded paper,leaves,egg shells,coffee grounds,urine,dead flowers,straw,sawdust,twigs and woody clippings nothing too thick or bulky,hedge clippings, cut grass the list goes on. Make sure you get a good mixture not too much of the same. No diseased plants or perennial weeds like couch grass dandelions or thistles. :D :D :D
MAY THE CORN BE WITH YOU.

okra

• Hectare
  • Grow your own its much safer
    • Cyprus Gardener
« Reply #3 on: January 11, 2007, 20:12:41 »