Author Topic: Priorities: Tea, seating and tools  (Read 5345 times)

emma h

• Quarter Acre
Priorities: Tea, seating and tools
« on: January 04, 2006, 13:32:37 »
So what is normal practice at the allotment for having a cuppa? I was thinking of taking my old camping stove down and storing it in the shed..is this usually OK?     I also having some camping chairs and thought a plastic table would suffice.

As far as tools go, I have a spade and fork and a set of children's tools (we are foster parents with 4-6 kids). I also have a scary thing that turns round with prickles on it (A christmas present).  I alos have some gloves, but that is pretty much it. What would be good to invest in now? Particulary I would like to know about cold frames and alternatives, and any other essentials (I am a real newbie to this, don't have much of a garden at home). I have 2 teenage boys who are easily bribed into manual labour ;D

Many thanks
Emma   (I am so excited about our first trip on Sunday ;D ;D)               

Mrs Ava

• Hectare
Re: Priorities: Tea, seating and tools
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2006, 13:47:19 »
Yay Emma (such a good name Emma!  ;D)

I take a flask to the plot, but then it is only ever me so my big flask sees me through the day.  In summer, suplimented with cold bottles of drinks.  I drive there, so beer is a no no.  I know some peeps have gas stoves, or light a fire or barby - I think it depends what rules there are on your site.  Some may not like or allow stoves and such....but I can't imagine that....

I have loads of fold up chairs as they are easy to store, and as I don't sit for long as I just plonk my bum down, spot a weed or something and think, ooo, will just get that.....and of course, another hour passes........I don't really want or need comfy chairs!  I don't have a table, I use the tops of my various waterbutts,and I have a couple of large pallets which I plonk on top of my compost heap if I do need a firm surface.