Author Topic: How do I "winter over" strawberry bed?  (Read 1196 times)

Mrs greenjeans

• Not So New ...
  • fighting the brambles on the banks of the Mole
How do I "winter over" strawberry bed?
« on: September 25, 2006, 19:42:32 »
I'm an allotment novice, and put in 8 strawberry plants (variety unknown, which may be part of the problem) in the spring. They were on special at my local garden centre - I think 10 for £2.50 or something.

I had almost no fruit, but they survived. I mulched them with straw, tried to keep the weeds out etc.

Have read the recent "Which STrawberries" post, and will take note of their recommended varieties, but am wondering what to do with the ones I've got now. Do I cut them back or anything? There are no runners to speak of, they're just competing with baby brambles, like everything else on my plot!!! ::)

BTW, I found pet shop easy source of hay for mulching - but of course it was £2 for decent size bag for rabbits. Maybe I didn't put down enough?

Any advice appreciated.... And isn't the rain nice? I'm 7 mos pregnant, but even I can weed now as everything comes up so easily!!!

Robert_Brenchley

• Hectare
    • My blog
Re: How do I "winter over" strawberry bed?
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2006, 20:28:53 »
You'll need an awful lot of rabbit-size bags to mulch an allotment! Look for bales.
« Last Edit: September 27, 2006, 08:44:05 by Robert_Brenchley »

autumn leaf

• Quarter Acre
  • So much to do and so little time!
« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2006, 20:31:02 »
Hi there

Straw might be cheaper for mulching as hay is a food source for goats etc.  I buy straw as bedding for my hens and it only costs just over a pound for a whole bales.  If you can manage to find a source near home it would be a better deal - don't go lifting it in your condition though! :)
Weeds? What weeds?

spacehopper

• Hectare
  • Its a jungle out there...
« Reply #3 on: September 26, 2006, 09:39:39 »