Author Topic: Aquilegia?discolor  (Read 2498 times)

Palustris

• Hectare
Aquilegia?discolor
« on: May 08, 2006, 10:50:49 »
THis may or may not be A. discolor, but it is very pretty and only 4 inches tall, but the flowers are a good size.
Gardening is the great leveller.

ACE

• Hectare
Re: Aquilegia?discolor
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2006, 11:40:49 »
Keep the seed and trial it for 3 years and you will be able to give it a name. What a beauty!

I am in my second year with a variagated digitalis 70% of the seedlings look as if they are variagated, so my fingers are crossed.

The variagation on the first sport were very unusual and unlike any of the others which were  from a packet of flashing spires seed.

montanum

• Half Acre
« Reply #2 on: May 08, 2006, 14:44:12 »
Yes do keep the seed as I find it to be a short lived plant.
From The Mountains

Palustris

• Hectare
« Reply #3 on: May 08, 2006, 15:52:52 »
Seeding itself aroud the trough garden now, as is a white one of similar girth, not fully open yet.

mat

• Hectare
  • Ryedale, North Yorks. Sandy loam, over sandstone
« Reply #4 on: May 08, 2006, 16:43:10 »
Yes do keep the seed as I find it to be a short lived plant.

montanum, I don't know whether I have misunderstood your comment, but just in case... aquilegia's are biennials - i.e. flowers which seed this year (2006) will die.  The seeds grow next year (2007) and these will flower and die the following year (2008.)  Unless you allow self seeding every year, you will soon be without plants.

Oh and aquilegia's are very promiscuous... they will cross pollinate with any other local aquilegias... so after a few years, all the plants could become non-descript unless kept apart !!!

mat
« Last Edit: May 08, 2006, 16:44:54 by mat »

Palustris

• Hectare
« Reply #5 on: May 08, 2006, 19:26:25 »