Author Topic: New life New regime!  (Read 2741 times)

SamBeavis

• Not So New ...
New life New regime!
« on: May 11, 2007, 15:03:33 »
Hi all..

I'm a newbie poster, but a long time lurker!

I've been reading the posts over the last few months with much enjoyment.. So first can I say thank you all for great advice and for being so nice:)

we are selling up and moving to France by the end of this year - we have a lovely place in Normandy with quite a bit of land (well for me with my current postage stamp garden it's a lot anyway!)..

The plan is to bring in a small amount of livestock - ideally hens to start with, to give us eggs, then moving on as we get more settled..

Ideally I am looking for something to help with the mowing the lawn(s).. 1.2 hectares is a lot of grass to mow!!

What is the ideal mower?
I'm favouring goats at the moment, and would probably want 2 females to keep one another company and to give us a little milk maybe

Would anyone have any other recommendations?

Also couple of daft questions (I have said I am new to all this!!!)
If we do get hens and goats...
Any animals we get will be kept as free range as possible, but I would arrange for any appropriate housing for them aswell..

We wouldn't be using any of them for the pot, so if I'm not breeding for meat would a cockeral be necessary for chickens? and would a billy goat be necessary for female goats?

Thanks in advance
Sam
x

Barnowl

• Hectare
  • getting back to my roots [SW London]
Re: New life New regime!
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2007, 15:25:48 »
Pretty sure goats tear up grass so not ideal - I think sheep would be better.

Trixiebelle

• Hectare
  • You looking at me? Huh?
« Reply #2 on: May 11, 2007, 15:39:44 »
I agree Barnowl! Sheep are better mowers than goats - goats have been known to eat knickers off a washing line  ;D