Author Topic: First Questions...  (Read 2672 times)

SallyA

First Questions...
« on: August 13, 2005, 09:59:25 »
Bear with me....... ;D

My plot is really tiny - the full size plots are only 100 square metres, but mine is a tiny plot in the corner, just 7.5x4.5 metres. Which is great for me cos I haven't got a lot of time and I'm a complete beginner. However it wasn't used for a good while before I took over on 1st August and is thick with weeds including some very deep dock roots and what I think might be couch grass. There's also a couple of sleeping policemen I think! The ground is very  uneven.

I've started clearing it, a little at a time, in the evenings after the boys have all gone to bed, so it's slow going at the moment. I've ordered some brassicas from Dobies in the hope that I can get one bed ready and get something growing to keep the enthusiasm up!

However, my husband and I have got different ideas on the best way to approach the plot, at the moment. I think the best thing would be to clear and prepare one bed, while the rest is under plastic, and then move onto a second etc. He thinks that raised beds would be better.

I think my method would be slower, and harder work, but more thorough, plus I think his method would be more expensive and I'm not sure how deep we'd have to make the beds to make sure that nothing starts growing back through?

So my first question is - which method would you take?

Secondly - I've got some raspberry canes taking up a fair amount of space in one corner. It looks like they've been left there for a couple of years at least and are pretty untamed! Out of the five of us in my family, there's only me who likes them, so much as I'd like to keep them there, I'm not sure it's a good use of space in my tiny plot! What  would you do with them? Should I dig them up, or just cut them back severely and try to keep them under control.

Any advice would be very very  gratefully received!

Thanks!

Sal
x

Kepouros

• Hectare