Author Topic: Earthing Up Container Spuds  (Read 1845 times)

bunnycat

• Half Acre
Earthing Up Container Spuds
« on: May 31, 2005, 22:03:57 »
My potatoes (in compost sacks) are about 8 or 9 inches tall now, with lots of healthy looking leaves. Do I just pile in more compost until I can only see the top bit of the plant?

I've never done this before, so any advice would be much appreciated :)

wardy

• Hectare
Re: Earthing Up Container Spuds
« Reply #1 on: May 31, 2005, 22:32:07 »
Hello  :)   My spuds are in compost sacks and I've put a few in an old washbasket.  Mine are growing in manure but I've got some old grow bag compost and put it over them just to make sure they have plenty of depth to grow in. 
I came, I saw, I composted

bunnycat

• Half Acre
« Reply #2 on: May 31, 2005, 23:58:34 »
Thanks for that, wardy :)

I'll get that done this weekend ;D

philcooper

• Hectare
    • Hampshire Potato Day
« Reply #3 on: June 02, 2005, 15:54:19 »
Sorry, I've been away for a couple of days BC.

Keep topping up to within about 6" of the top - you need plenty of cover to get lots of tubers but the plant needs leaves (in the sunlight) to feed the plant so it's a bit of a balancing act.

Phil

aquilegia

• Hectare
  • hello!
« Reply #4 on: June 02, 2005, 16:02:25 »
When there's lots of stalk on mine, I've been earthing them up and leave the leaves out the top. I gently hold the leaves in one hand so they are all gathered together (without breaking them) and carefully scoop in the soil/compost around the edges. Seems to be working. Last year I just poured in the soil and ended up with a few broken stems. oops.
gone to pot :D

bunnycat

• Half Acre
« Reply #5 on: June 02, 2005, 19:01:16 »
Thanks everyone :)

Breaking the stems is something I'm a bit worried about, so I'll be as careful as possible :(

tim

• Hectare
  • Just like the old days!
« Reply #6 on: June 02, 2005, 19:10:41 »