Author Topic: Poor Soil  (Read 3071 times)

slugcatcher

• Half Acre
Poor Soil
« on: May 22, 2005, 08:40:58 »
I have a plot that hasnt been worked for a long time and the soil is very uneven in depth and quality.
I have to be careful when digging, and more times than not it is only a small spade depth down. If any further I bring up a mixture of a orange coloured fine substance and a load of pebbles. The soil that is there has no body to it, very fine, and when planted and watered it compacts very quickly.
Advice on what to do please.
My intensions was at the back end to add a lot of manure, but I am thinking of importing some soil as well, but this would be expensive I think

Thanks
Ron
Dont screw up the best things in life cos you dont know who you are, or where you are going !!

Justy

• Hectare
Re: Poor Soil
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2005, 09:16:13 »
i have a similar problem however the poor orangy subsoil on my lottie is compacted clay.  I have been working on the plot for 18 months and in the beds that I have made I have been adding mushroom compost, homemade compost and manure.  It has made huge difference although there is still some way to go.  Having the beds has helped because I only need to improve and enrich the soil in the beds which cuts down on cost.  My neighbouring lotties all use long rows the length of their lotties and it must have been backbreaking to get all the soil improved.  You could also keep an eye out in local paper for people getting rid of topsoil when doing building/garden works.  I have done this sucessfully in the past however you do have to be careful because you may just end up with loads more subsoil and someone elses weeds!

derbex

• Hectare
  • I've come about the reaping
« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2005, 09:27:54 »