Author Topic: Tetanus jabs  (Read 13119 times)

Annieapples

• Not So New ...
Tetanus jabs
« on: May 18, 2005, 20:51:57 »
Hello everyone - a newbie here - i've been lurking long enough - you lot are so interesting - i just couldn't resist joining in - I just wanted to ask does anybody know how often as diggers, weeders and occasional slicers of muddy fingers ;) we should have a tetanus jab and do we have to pay for them?

Thanks....

Svea

• Hectare
  • ...getting the hang of things...
Re: Tetanus jabs
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2005, 21:17:01 »
dunno about the cost but i think you should have one every 10 years?
which means mine is due as i last had one just before i travelled in south america in 1994 (!!)
Gardening in SE17 since 2005 ;)

Palustris

• Hectare
« Reply #2 on: May 18, 2005, 21:25:35 »
If you do  a search on Tetanus on here,you will find a wide discussion. I had one recently at my local GP and it was free, but you can only now have it as part of a combined jab, but I'm blowed if I can remember what it was ?measles?diptheria?,heaven knows!
Gardening is the great leveller.

Diana

• Acre
« Reply #3 on: May 18, 2005, 21:49:25 »
Yeah agreed - 10 years + free

I was told by the nurse (when signed on with new doctor) if you're coming into contact with horses (or their doings) you should keep up to date with the jabs as they are the main carriers + tetnus related problems are on the increase.

Don't shoot the messenger for scare-mongering - just passing it on
Re vera, cara mea, mea nil refert

ina

• Hectare
    • My Homepage
« Reply #4 on: May 18, 2005, 22:28:17 »
We had this discussion before and then it was also mentioned by several people that you could only get a tetanus booster as a combined vaccination. The tetanus vaccine is called Tetavax and I just can't imagine you can't get that there.