Author Topic: Seeds in Mini Greenhouses  (Read 2816 times)

Kazum

• Not So New ...
Seeds in Mini Greenhouses
« on: April 12, 2005, 20:53:14 »
Hi everyone, I'm totally new to this allotment malarky so I apologise if my question is totally obvious but, I've just bought one of those mini greenhouse thingys - three tiers with a PVC zip up cover and I wanted to know if its a good idea to put my yet to emerge seedlings in it outside?  I've got tomatoes and runner beans so far but I'm not sure what sort of temperature I should be reaching for them to germinate.

Would be grateful for any advice!

P.S. I'm in Devon so its not very cold and we aren't likely to get anymore frosts.

wardy

• Hectare
Re: Seeds in Mini Greenhouses
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2005, 23:19:04 »
Tomatoes need warmth to germinate so I think it will get too cold outside.  Runner beans maybe ok but I'd do both inside I think.  Tomatoes will need keeping fairly warm indoors until all danger of frost has past. 

If you read the backs of the packets it will give you exact instructions on what to do.  Just follow the advice given and all will be well  :)
I came, I saw, I composted

Moggle

• Hectare
  • My island home is waiting for me
« Reply #2 on: April 13, 2005, 09:13:28 »
Welcome Kazum :)

I have one of those too :-) Unless it's really sunny, they don't get quite hot enough to have stuff germinate evenly - heat loving stuff like tomatoes etc. I am still germinating my toms, peppers and cucumbers in the airing cupboard, then giving them around a week on the warm kitchen windowsill, then moving to a colder windowsill and will move them from there to the mini-greenhouse.  Runner beans and french beans would come in this category as well, and also courgettes and pumpkins.

Have germinated lettuce, sweet peas, chives, leeks in the mini-greenhouse though.

No more frosts - lucky you  :)