Author Topic: pictures of parsnip seedlings  (Read 13432 times)

janebb

• Quarter Acre
pictures of parsnip seedlings
« on: April 07, 2005, 20:56:51 »
I'm new to this allotment thing (got my allotment in November). Hope you don't think this a stupid question

I planted parsnip seeds as instructed by Dr Hessayan - groups of 3 seeds together, 6 inches apart.  Trouble is, now I have thousands of seedlings all coming up and I don't know which are parsnips (if any) and which are weeds. 

Can anyone suggest a web site (or anywhere else) which has a picture of parsnip seedlings?

Also, the seeds were sown about 3 seeks ago. Is this too soon for parsnips to have germinated?

johcharly

• Half Acre
Re: pictures of parsnip seedlings
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2005, 21:02:01 »
dont know about a piccy but I planted my parsnips about 3 weeks ago and they ae just starting to come.  As regards weeds I usually leave all the row to grow until I can tell for definate then weed

janebb

• Quarter Acre
« Reply #2 on: April 07, 2005, 21:06:54 »
Thank you

If I leave it a couple more weeks will it then be obvious which are parsnips?

Roy Bham UK

• Hectare
  • Let's press flesh
    • http://community.webshots.com/user/roybhamuk
« Reply #3 on: April 07, 2005, 21:13:46 »
Hi janebb and welcome aboard ;D they should look something like this...

janebb

• Quarter Acre
« Reply #4 on: April 07, 2005, 21:17:15 »
Roy

That's fantastic.

I don't think I have anything looking like that yet so I guess they haven't germinated yet.  I'll be out to the allotment first thing tomorrow just to double check though

johcharly

• Half Acre
« Reply #5 on: April 07, 2005, 21:22:10 »
Janebb remember that photo is after they have formed their first true leaves. They look different until they have.

Clayhithe

• Acre
  • Easy does it
« Reply #6 on: April 07, 2005, 22:04:43 »
Wish my parsnips would germinate that fast.
(wish mine would germinate)