Author Topic: White Rot Resistant Onions  (Read 7747 times)

steve1967

• Half Acre
White Rot Resistant Onions
« on: June 09, 2012, 09:07:24 »
Hi all newbie here looking for help and advice.  ;D

I have read that Golden Bear F1 onion seed are resistant to the dreaded White Rot. Has anyone tried these and what sort of success did you have and how did they store.

Steve

Ellen K

• Hectare
  • Loughborough, Leicestershire
Re: White Rot Resistant Onions
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2012, 09:47:10 »
I have not grown them but they may be similar to Santero and a few people on here (Shirltone?) have grown it and been happy IIRC.

But these F1s are not white rot resistant - it's downy mildew they can grow through.

saddad

• Hectare
  • Derby, Derbyshire (Strange, but true!)
« Reply #2 on: June 09, 2012, 10:26:32 »
The best advice is not to grow them at all.  If white rot is in the soil the spores last for ages ... "resistant" crops just allow the pathogen to survive and build up... as it did with potato eelworm. You can grow them in containers.  :-X

Ellen K

• Hectare
« Reply #3 on: June 10, 2012, 17:13:17 »
You might think that container growing is a bit OTT for basics like onions but you can do quite well with fancy shallot seed and a small volume of compost.

I do it as the weed situation on my plot makes it difficult to grow such things in the ground,  I will take some pictures tomorrow so you can have a gander.

cornykev

• Hectare
  • Sunny Cheshunt just outside North London
« Reply #4 on: June 10, 2012, 18:03:22 »
I grow mine in raised beds now because of the WR with council compost and they are the best winter onions I have ever had.   ;D
MAY THE CORN BE WITH YOU.

shirlton

• Hectare
  • west midlands
« Reply #5 on: June 10, 2012, 19:53:44 »
I did grow santero last year and when pulled they looked ok but they didn't keep. I think we are going to give onions a miss from now on.
When I get old I don't want people thinking