Author Topic: sick tips on James Grieve apple tree  (Read 2475 times)

peanuts

• Hectare
sick tips on James Grieve apple tree
« on: May 07, 2019, 17:23:46 »
We have a James Grieve apple tree on dwarf stock, planted 10 years ago.  It gives a good harvest usually.  But some springs (not every one), after the blossom has set, many of the new tips go floppy and then turn brown and die.  The weather has been fairly standard, not particularly cold, or dry or wet.  I've attached some photos.  Should I cut them off immediately I see the problem?  What might be the cause?  Any other advice?   Thank you!

peanuts

• Hectare
Re: sick tips on James Grieve apple tree
« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2019, 17:24:50 »
two more photos

Tee Gee

• Hectare
  • Huddersfield - Light humus rich soil
    • The Gardener's Almanac
« Reply #2 on: May 07, 2019, 19:02:25 »
I am no expert but my first thoughts were; What is your pruning routine?

I ask because the most affected branches seem to me on long leaders which do not look as if they have been cut back to the " basal cluster"

Up here in the wild and woolly north we call these long growths"water wood" so the clue is in this name. My guess is this softwood has been hit by frost.

I haven't had this problem with my apple trees but I have had it with my Hydrangeas,that is the tip growth has been affected by frost.

As I said " I am no expert" but from what I can see this is the best suggestion I have to offer!

peanuts

• Hectare
« Reply #3 on: May 09, 2019, 07:09:31 »