Author Topic: hypothetical question.  (Read 1845 times)

ACE

• Hectare
hypothetical question.
« on: June 29, 2019, 08:21:33 »
I am a member of an allotment association. If there was a claim on the association would I be liable to have to pay a share?  I have nothing to do with the running, I just go and do my allotment. But I feel I really should bring up a concern about people using the new association owned machinery without any basic training. If they should have an accident you can bet your life the insurance will not pay if they are just giving machines to complete novices. An ambulance chaser would have a field day. I was trained to train in the use and maintenance of  gardening machinery but my certificates must have run out years ago and I do not want to go to committee meetings etc. I just dig and plant and leave the running to the busy bodies.

nodig

• Half Acre
Re: hypothetical question.
« Reply #1 on: June 29, 2019, 08:45:50 »
I think a simple disclaimer form would do the job and protect the association members from claims.  You can hire all sorts of dangerous equipment from tool hire shops but they don't make you go on basic training courses first.  The biggest danger is that the machinery is not maintained to a high standard, that would leave the door open for possible claims if injury resulted from faulty equipment.

pumkinlover

« Reply #2 on: June 29, 2019, 09:05:23 »
This is one of many reasons I stood down as trustee when I came off the committee.

ACE

• Hectare
« Reply #3 on: June 29, 2019, 10:21:30 »
Yes 'I have read and understood' notice would do I suppose. But I don't think it would stand up to scrutiny by some certain shyster lawyers.

Deb P

• Hectare
  • Still digging it....
« Reply #4 on: June 29, 2019, 11:02:58 »