Author Topic: Elephant garlic pips  (Read 2185 times)

lottie lou

• Hectare
  • Birmingham
Elephant garlic pips
« on: June 22, 2019, 20:04:41 »
I have been growing garlic pips for a couple of years. However nothing much has come of them. Does anyone know how many years you have to grow them before you get a viable bulb?

ancellsfarmer

• Hectare
  • Plot is London clay, rich in Mesozoic fossils
Re: Elephant garlic pips
« Reply #1 on: June 22, 2019, 20:33:11 »
i think that they would develop into a split clove in year 2 but need a 'winter' temperature shock to cause their 'clock' to register. Where have they spent the last 2 years?
Freelance cultivator qualified within the University of Life.

Beersmith

• Hectare
  • Duston, Northampton. Loam / sand.
« Reply #2 on: June 22, 2019, 21:01:34 »
A very interesting question - have a like from me.

Today, I dug up a couple of elephant garlic, and as is often the case noticed several small clove like growths around the base of the larger bulbs.  Previously I'd have used these in the kitchen to add a small hint of mild garlic flavour when needed, but the alternative of growing them into bigger bulbs is interesting.

Is this what is meant by garlic pips?  Elephant garlic cloves are very expensive to buy from seed suppliers so anything that increases stocks appeals to me. I have never tried growing these tiny "pips" before.

I have grown on the tiny bulbs that appear around gladioli bulbs. No flowers in the first season but they get bigger and usually flower in the following season.

I'm speculating but saving and growing the pips on a two year cycle might allow me to avoid ever having to buy new elephant garlic cloves.  This is possible some years with conventional cloves, but depending on yields and using too many in the kitchen, I sometimes don't have enough saved.  I will watch responses with interest. 
« Last Edit: June 22, 2019, 21:06:57 by Beersmith »
Not mad, just out to mulch!

galina

• Hectare
  • Johanniskirchen