Author Topic: Identifying What I Have  (Read 3427 times)

igrowmeown

• Not So New ...
Identifying What I Have
« on: March 17, 2019, 17:34:17 »
I am brand new to this, and brand new to the forum. Hello

I have recently come into possession of two plots.

What tips do you have to identifying what is already growing in the plots?

Thank you in advance :-)
Hello :-)

ACE

• Hectare
Re: Identifying What I Have
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2019, 19:06:59 »
Ask on the neighbouring plots, you will not have a lot this time of year, but there may be fruit bushes. Black currents smell like blackcurrants when you break a bud and gooseberries hurt. Long term crops like rhubarb, asparagus strawberries herbs and perennial kale is easy. Don't try the taste test though. Allotment folks are chatty types anyway they will soon tell you what grows well in the area and freely give advice. A photo shown on here will always get results.

johhnyco15

• Hectare
  • clacton-on-sea
« Reply #2 on: March 17, 2019, 19:19:21 »
yes indeed as ACE  said ask around  im sure you will get loads of help and welcome to A4A hope you enjoy your plots and  have a great first season :sunny: :sunny: :sunny:
johhnyc015  may the plot be with you

igrowmeown

• Not So New ...
« Reply #3 on: March 17, 2019, 19:46:41 »
The dudes and gals at the plot have told me that one of the plots I have has the best asparagus, so I know at least one thing I have.

I shall take pictures over the next few days to upload and share with you for an ID session :-)

Thank you for your swift responses.

Tee Gee

• Hectare
  • Huddersfield - Light humus rich soil
    • The Gardener's Almanac
« Reply #4 on: March 17, 2019, 20:04:48 »
Hi

Welcome to A4A glad to see new blood in the community.

I think you have made a good move in joining this group. For example I have been allotmenteering for the best part of forty years and there is hardly a week passes when even I learn something new from the members on this forum.