Author Topic: Cosmos not flowering  (Read 2724 times)

caroline7758

• Hectare
  • Berwick-upon-Tweed
Cosmos not flowering
« on: August 24, 2018, 11:19:52 »
In an attempt to brighten up my garden(having not planted anything new as selling the house), I bought some Cosmos plants from Wyevale. they are nice and bushy but have no sign of flowers. Googling shows this to be quite a common problem but with no definite reason- people suggest too much water or too much feed as they apparently grow like weeds in Brazil.

Can anyone give me any hope that they will flower eventually?

Deb P

• Hectare
  • Still digging it....
Re: Cosmos not flowering
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2018, 15:51:13 »
I think it depends on the variety: I'm quite new at growing Cosmos, but have tried several different varieties this year. All sown at the same time, I have several plants that have not flowered yet, others have been flowering for months?! Hopefully yours are just later flowering varieties!
If it's not pouring with rain, I'm either in the garden or at the lottie! Probably still there in the rain as well TBH....🥴

http://www.littleoverlaneallotments.org.uk

caroline7758

• Hectare
  • Berwick-upon-Tweed
« Reply #2 on: August 24, 2018, 16:40:32 »
Just heard exactly this question on GQT. They reckoned either too much nitrogen/not enough potash, or poor seed.

Deb P

• Hectare
  • Still digging it....
« Reply #3 on: August 24, 2018, 23:25:43 »
I guess a nice liquid feed wouldn't hurt then.....I'll try it on my barren ones then!
If it's not pouring with rain, I'm either in the garden or at the lottie! Probably still there in the rain as well TBH....🥴

Obelixx

• Hectare
  • Vendée, France
« Reply #4 on: August 25, 2018, 10:13:27 »
Make sure it's tomato or seaweed and not high in nitrogen.
Obxx - Vendée France

ancellsfarmer

• Hectare
  • Plot is London clay, rich in Mesozoic fossils
« Reply #5 on: August 25, 2018, 12:37:27 »