Author Topic: Greenhouse leaking  (Read 6739 times)

Jane0O0

Greenhouse leaking
« on: January 04, 2018, 20:13:02 »
I've recently received a metal greenhouse but due to the rain we've had here in Newcastle I've noticed its leaking in the corner as the pics show. Does anyone have any ideas how I can prevent this continuing please.

BTW I'm brand new to gardening so this will be my first year with a greenhouse and growing tomatoes hopefully.

MervF

• Half Acre
  • Poole, Dorset
Re: Greenhouse leaking
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2018, 22:20:02 »
Did you forget the pics?

galina

• Hectare
  • Johanniskirchen
« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2018, 08:10:27 »
Welcome to A4A Jane.  I can't see the photos either, although there is an attachment symbol next to the header of your message.

Just wanted to say that with greenhouses the quality varies widely.  Good ones should not leak as they are more of conservatory quality, but cheapies, especially second hand ones that were taken down and reassembled again, can leak a little in bad rain.  Mine have a drip leak from the roof vents, where water seeps in, but it is only drips in bad rain.  If the greenhouse structure is basically sound (metal not bent) and sits level on a good base, then check the panes and glazing clips.  Roof panes can slip and leave a bit of a gap and just need more glazing clips adding to keep them in place better.

I had remnants of sealing strips (black rubber strips) in one of my second hand small metal greenhouses, but it does not make that much difference without them.  They are probably more effective for keeping heat in.  But you could look into that too.   

If you have an old cheap greenhouse, I wouldn't worry too much about a few drips in bad rain, beyond checking that it is level.  But if it is a quality greenhouse then it is worthwhile contacting the manufacturers for suggestions.