Author Topic: Rocket seedlings  (Read 5933 times)

*Joanne*

• Quarter Acre
Rocket seedlings
« on: April 01, 2005, 21:49:08 »
I planted them last Saturday they have done really well better than my carrots.I am really worried that i will kill them i have tried to sow things before and they have died.Now a few thing to save them from death do i take the propagator lid off now and when do i thin them out.I have got some plug tray to put them in i have never done this right before they always die.I really want to do this right not been brave enough to try tomato.

Thanks Joanne
I would like to be a glow-worm.
A glow-worm's never glum.
Its hard to be downhearted
When the sun shines out your bum.

Joanne

Jesse

• Hectare
    • News2Share
Re: Rocket seedlings
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2005, 22:47:49 »
Joanne, take the lid off to prevent dampening off. Then wait 'till they have their first true leaves and prick out. I grew mine in small plug trays, germinated without the use of a propagator but I didn't have much luck with them after germination. Lots of them seemed to keel over and die for no good reason, I've had about a 50% success rate. Good luck with yours.

and why not try tomato, I find them really easy to grow.
Green fingers are the extension of a verdant heart - Russell Page

http://www.news2share.co.uk

Mrs Ava

• Hectare
« Reply #2 on: April 01, 2005, 23:48:07 »
See, my rocket grown in modules all bolted within day!  Directly sown bolted, but not quite as quick.  I am trying again but this time have encorporated masses of organic matter in the ground to hold on to some moisture and have started them off under a cloche now rather than wait another month.

*Joanne*

• Quarter Acre
« Reply #3 on: April 01, 2005, 23:56:53 »
Thanks hope they will do ok never had any look with tomatos i get my plants for the local market  they never go red and were very dry last year.I would love to try cherry tomatos this year have seen some plants for sale on ebay.

Joanne

*Joanne*