Author Topic: Out with the old in with the new  (Read 1739 times)

Tee Gee

• Hectare
  • Huddersfield - Light humus rich soil
    • The Gardener's Almanac
Out with the old in with the new
« on: October 25, 2017, 16:27:29 »
Hi All

I have been a bit busy this month rearranging my future!

Well as you may know I have been cutting back on my allotments e.g Four years ago I swapped a full plot for a half plot but after two years I cut back again and only cultivated half of it, I allowed another plot holder to cultivate the other half of it.

Well I have now handed in my notice for this plot so at the end of the year I will only have one plot.

Next year I guess it will be quite strange only working one plot considering I have been working two plots on this site since 1989.

I had
Plot 6 for 13 years
Plot 7 for 4years
Plot 19 for 4 years (This is the one I am giving up)
Plot 20 for 23 years (This the plot I am keeping)
Plot 21 f0r 12 years

As you see I have moved around a bit over the years!

Meanwhile I have been altering my garden at home to cater for when I will finally give up my last plot, although I am not sure when that will be.

I think I will play this from year to year for the time being!

Might go for another two years and that will mean I will have had Plot 20 for 25 years and been on the site for 30 years, we'll see!

In the mean time here are a few things I have been doing in a part of my garden at home;

This is as it was:

I have now removed my coldframe and replaced it with this:

This is an 8x6 Greenhouse I have moved up from one of my Allotments!

Inside I have chosen to have a paved floor rather than the soil borders I had on the allotment as I plan to go 100% Ring Culture!

I can get 14 Rings on the go at one time so all set for half a dozen Tomatoes,Half a dozen Peppers and a couple of Cucumbers which should cater for me and t'other half!

Through winter and spring it will replace the coldframe I have dispensed with as you can see here: