Author Topic: Supporting cucumbers in pots  (Read 1645 times)

George the Pigman

• Hectare
  • Birmingham, neutral clay soil
Supporting cucumbers in pots
« on: June 05, 2017, 21:30:01 »
After many years of using growbags to grow cucumbers in my greenhouse I have decided to grow them in pots for a change. I potted up two in two 25cm pots with lots of compost. Then it occurred to me "how do I support them?"
They can grow big with heavy fruits (always the optimist!). Just putting a cane in each pot with a couple of cross canes didn't seem likely to stand up (literally!).
Anyone got any tips?

Hector

• Hectare
Re: Supporting cucumbers in pots
« Reply #1 on: June 05, 2017, 21:52:00 »
Im only a beginner but have grown cukes in pots for three years. i have a bamboo cane in the cuke pot and I tie it into a trellis I have tied across roof span. I have additional "strings" tied to a tensioned cable I have across roof and they come down in a V shape tied to pot edge to " help" the cuke attackh to the strings and pole arrangement.
I grew a big cuke Sikkim on this last year
« Last Edit: June 05, 2017, 21:55:11 by Hector »
Jackie

Tee Gee

• Hectare
  • Huddersfield - Light humus rich soil
    • The Gardener's Almanac
« Reply #2 on: June 05, 2017, 23:01:52 »

The picture above although not cucumbers ( they are tomatoes)might give you an idea.

The canes shown are tied into a horizontal wire extended from one end of the greenhouse to the other so providing you support the top of the cane all should be OK

ancellsfarmer

• Hectare
  • Plot is London clay, rich in Mesozoic fossils
« Reply #3 on: June 06, 2017, 11:13:15 »
Poke a strand of galvanised wire(straitened-out coat hanger-dry cleaner -free!)down through the drainage hole in the pot and create loop. Secure polypropylene string to upper end of loop.Tie off to available overhead wire as Tee Gee suggests. Jobs a goodun! Easiest before planting.
Freelance cultivator qualified within the University of Life.

johhnyco15