Author Topic: Peas and mice  (Read 2699 times)

Borderers1951

• Quarter Acre
Peas and mice
« on: May 06, 2017, 13:43:15 »
Although I have been gardening for many years, I have just moved house and taken over a new allotment.  I have encountered a problem I never had before now - mice eating my seed peas.  I have been told that using a watering can of water plus a cupful of paraffin will prevent this.  How effective is this and does it flavour the crops?

Plot 18

• Acre
  • Plot in Mid-Kent
Re: Peas and mice
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2017, 15:05:02 »
The old boys on our plots soak the seeds in paraffin before sowing them. It works for them and doesn't affect the taste.

johhnyco15

• Hectare
  • clacton-on-sea
« Reply #2 on: May 06, 2017, 16:12:23 »
boom boom boom  boom Esso  Blue :sunny: :sunny: :sunny: :sunny: :sunny:
johhnyc015  may the plot be with you

Tee Gee

• Hectare
  • Huddersfield - Light humus rich soil
    • The Gardener's Almanac
« Reply #3 on: May 06, 2017, 17:15:25 »
does it flavour the crops?

Think of it in this way:

It is the seed pea that is soaked in paraffin and this rots away after it has produced the root system and seed leaves, so basically you have an unaffected plant.

brownthumb2

• Half Acre
« Reply #4 on: May 06, 2017, 17:59:55 »
 this topic was interesting to read ... I've been having this problem  this year with mice First time since in taking the plot over  5  x years ago  Having to re sort to planting again in a gutter  plus some in pots to fill in existing rows so i will use the paraffin method  when planning out  just in case 

ed dibbles

• Hectare
  • somerset/dorset border. clay loam.
« Reply #5 on: May 06, 2017, 18:20:20 »
The problem we have on our site with direct sown peas and beans is not mice so much as birds, crows particularly. They peck up the plants leaving the tops on the surface.

At first glance the damage looks like mice but it is not. They also peck out the pods near to harvest. :BangHead: