Author Topic: A university project  (Read 2257 times)

CapedCapybara

A university project
« on: May 02, 2017, 21:14:35 »
Hi there,
I am a university student studying computer science, as part of one of my modules I have to design a solution to a problem we have identified in society. I have chosen to design a solution to the want of more allotments, and trying to make gardening and applying for/owning an allotment better.

My proposal is an app with 3 main features. 1 - you can apply for an allotment in your area on the app, trying to make it more accessible to apply by having it on multiple platforms. 2 - A section where users can take photos of abandoned or unused bits of land the users think will make good allotments and submit them for review to the council. And 3 - a mobile friendly forum, like this one, so users can share their interest with others like themselves.

As part of my initial research I have written a survey, I'm hoping it's ok to post it here, it'll be good to get some responses from people with experience in this area!

https://goo.gl/forms/iRDiJK9wtPSb2X6E3

Thank you.

Beersmith

• Hectare
  • Duston, Northampton. Loam / sand.
Re: A university project
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2017, 21:47:28 »
If your project includes a survey, you will need to explain what part of the population you are targeting and why.

If you hope to research a representative cross section of the public you will need a random sample rather than just inviting anyone who is interested. If you are truly attempting a survey you will need a sampling frame, a sampling process, and a strategy for non response. But If of you want to speak to people with expertise or an interest in a specific topic, you are really running a consultation exercise so it might be better not to call it a survey.