Author Topic: In or out?  (Read 1821 times)

AnnieD

• Half Acre
  • Royston, North Herts, very chalky
In or out?
« on: March 15, 2017, 09:02:40 »
I'm a beginner at this. Been reading loads of stuff and it's so easy to get overloaded with info.

I don't have a greenhouse and limited space in the house for growing stuff.
So would welcome some advice from those of you h=who have experience.

Broccoli, Brussels sprouts, runner beans, leeks, sweetcorn. Which of these really should be started off indoors, and which will be ok if I plant them straight in the ground at the appropriate time? thanks
Located in Royston, North Herts.

squeezyjohn

• Hectare
  • Oxfordshire - Sandy loam on top of clay
Re: In or out?
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2017, 09:25:13 »
Hi Annie,

My experience is that it's far easier to get germination and protect the seedlings if you sow in to modules or small pots rather than sowing the seeds in-situ.  Whether that's inside or out depends on the seed and the temperatures they need to germinate.  There are exceptions for things like carrots, radishes and parsnips which don't enjoy being transplanted and are better off sown direct when the soil has warmed up.  For things like the ones you mention, you can start them on a windowsill and then move them to a sheltered place outdoors to grow on if you don't have a greenhouse.

In terms of timings you'll need to look at your packets for suggested sowing times.  Broccolli, brussells sprouts and all the summer brassicas can be sown now and will come up.  If you're sowing leeks from seed they need sowing now too - I sow mine fairly thickly in a big deep pot so they come up like a lawn and let them grow like that until they've become nice and big in May when they can be planted out.  Things like tomatoes need sowing indoors about now too - but they can't go outside and will need to stay on the windowsill until the risk of frost is passed.