Author Topic: Are there any asparagus experts out there?  (Read 4486 times)

Beersmith

• Hectare
  • Duston, Northampton. Loam / sand.
Are there any asparagus experts out there?
« on: March 13, 2017, 19:56:03 »
I plan to establish a small asparagus bed, but this is a new crop for me. I am considering  planting in a raised bed. Are there any more experienced growers who could offer advice on the best varieties, information on planting distances, and other tips on care?

Cheers

Beersmith
Not mad, just out to mulch!

squeezyjohn

• Hectare
  • Oxfordshire - Sandy loam on top of clay
Re: Are there any asparagus experts out there?
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2017, 21:24:12 »
I wouldn't say I'm an expert, but I've planted 3 asparagus beds in my lifetime and the 3rd one was a success because of the failure of the first two!

My main bits of advice are ones I followed the 3rd time and it's absolutely made the difference between success and failure:

1 - make sure you dig out any perennial weed roots thoroughly in the area you want to plant them, and also clear the ground right around it too.  An asparagus bed can last as long as 20 years - and it hates root disturbance - so if you have bindweed and marestail then you'll have it there for the lifetime of the bed.  Also keep well away from raspberries which have a tendency to invade beds over time.

2 - They sould be fine in a raised bed - but it doesn't need sides necessarily - I planted mine on a ridge because a previous attempt drowned in a flood - they hate waterlogging.  Prepare the soil and if it is clay-ey you might want to add a lot of sand to help with drainage.  Add loads of organic matter and dig in to the bed because thereafter you can only top dress and let the worms take it down.