Author Topic: Autumn Raspberries  (Read 3712 times)

Crystalmoon

• Hectare
Autumn Raspberries
« on: November 04, 2016, 08:40:26 »
Hi everyone, I am new to growing Autumn Raspberries....mine are still producing flowers & lots of fruit. This is their first year. I was wondering when I should be cutting them back for Winter & also how low do I cut the canes back? Is it right to the ground level? Thanks   

johhnyco15

• Hectare
  • clacton-on-sea
Re: Autumn Raspberries
« Reply #1 on: November 04, 2016, 13:51:30 »
i cut mine back yesterday as close to the floor around an inch  or two will be fine i cut mine back with hedge shears  as i have a lot id leave them until the quality of the fruit starts fall hope this helps
johhnyc015  may the plot be with you

Crystalmoon

• Hectare
« Reply #2 on: November 04, 2016, 14:18:42 »
Thanks so much Johhny xjane

tricia

• Hectare
  • Torbay, Devon
« Reply #3 on: November 04, 2016, 15:14:47 »
I wait till the canes have lost their leaves - easier to see what you are doing and the fallen leaves act as a mulch along the row, which in my garden is alongside a low wall.

Tricia  :wave:

daveyboi

• Hectare
  • Have fun enjoy your allotment
    • Daveyboi's Blog and personal website
« Reply #4 on: November 05, 2016, 09:26:58 »
The RHS suggest you cut back in February but also it seems you can get a dual crop from these as well which is something I did not know until now.

See their advice at https://www.rhs.org.uk/Advice/profile?pid=148

Does anyone do this to get a summer and autumn crop from the same plants?

Daveyboi
Near Haywards Heath Southern U.K.

Visit My Blog if you would like to

Crystalmoon

• Hectare
« Reply #5 on: November 07, 2016, 09:27:53 »
Hi Tricia, mine still seem to be growing new leaves & flower buds so will let them get on with it for now.