Author Topic: Garlic - no cloves.  (Read 6989 times)

rokerman1973

• Quarter Acre
Garlic - no cloves.
« on: June 08, 2016, 13:35:27 »
Hi, just harvested my first garlic, Germidour, purchased from Wilkinsons. Planted in October last. This is the first time that the bulb has not split into gloves. Is this due maybe to the lack of a decent frost or have I done something else wrong. Have grown garlic successfully for a number of years. Many thanks in advance.

Paul_D

• Not So New ...
Re: Garlic - no cloves.
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2016, 14:05:57 »
I'm new to all this and still trying to decide when to pull up my first ever garlic crop so sorry i cant help but just wanted to say hello to a fellow Mackem.  :icon_cheers:

Pescador

• Hectare
« Reply #2 on: June 08, 2016, 15:49:00 »
Could well be the mild winter. Where is your plot?
Like us on Facebook. Paul's Preserves and Pickles.
Miskin, Pontyclun. S. Wales.
Every pickle helps!

rollingrock

« Reply #3 on: June 08, 2016, 17:27:10 »
late June to early July

Tee Gee

• Hectare
  • Huddersfield - Light humus rich soil
    • The Gardener's Almanac
« Reply #4 on: June 08, 2016, 17:57:44 »
I haven't lifted any of my plants yet, on looking at them I am guessing it will be around another month before I get round to lifting my plants.

I tend to go along with the others at this stage and put it down to another of this years weird events.

Who knows? There might be something in this  global warming thing after all! :sunny:

Just as a matter of interest, have the leaves yellowed?

johhnyco15

• Hectare
  • clacton-on-sea
« Reply #5 on: June 08, 2016, 18:05:47 »
i lifted one of my germidor again purchased from wilko although a little small it had around 8 cloves to the bulb will leave the rest to mature for a while however no problems apart from rust which we get every year  :sunny: :sunny: :sunny: :sunny: :sunny: :sunny: :sunny: :sunny: :sunny: :sunny: :sunny: :sunny: :sunny: :sunny:
johhnyc015  may the plot be with you

Jeannine