Author Topic: Please help: How to put up a greenhouse  (Read 5213 times)

Karen Atkinson

• Half Acre
Please help: How to put up a greenhouse
« on: March 26, 2016, 08:52:22 »
I've bought a dismantled second hand glass greenhouse (aluminium and glass).  Now need to erect it on my allotment. I've never done anything like this before and wondered how to go about it. A few questions first:

1. I've got enough pavers for the floor but do I just lay these on the soil! Won't they sink over time.
2. I guess I'll need to secure it to something but what? I can't drill into the pavers as they'll just break.
3. Someone mentioned measuring temporarily securing the frame as I built in order that it doesn't shift as I construct it. How might I do this?

I'm on my own constructing it by the way. Feeling overwhelmed to be honest.

Jayb

• Global Moderator
  • Hectare
Re: Please help: How to put up a greenhouse
« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2016, 10:30:47 »
Congrats on getting a greenhouse.
When I put up my greenhouse a few years back (it's 12' x 8'), I dug a trench/footings which I filled with concrete for the base, if I'd been a bit wiser I would have put in a course of blocks to add a little head height. I bought some bolts to attach the base to the concrete. A friend used pavers on top of stone chippings and theirs doesn't seem to have sunk at all, sorry can't help with drilling pavers.