Produce > Edible Plants

A question for you; Casseille Vs Jostaberry?

(1/6) > >>

WokingGus:

Hi, A question for you all if I may? Casseille Vs Jostaberry?

I’m new to the growing my own food thing. Having only had a garden now for two years, I’ve got limited space in the garden so need to make everything count. The various books and web pages seem to concentrate on the Jostaberry. Though if the write up’s of the plants are anything to go by, the Casseille seems to be more productive with a sweeter taste. However, I notice that the suppliers sell the Jostaberry rather than the Casseille. D.T.Brown has even stopped selling it [Casseille]. Even RHS wisely only has the Jostaberry on their cultivated plots and the guys looking after the soft fruits section at RHS when asked did not seem to know a lot about the Casseille but as you’d expect knew loads about the Jostaberry.

So, my research is grinding to a halt. Casseille seems the best on write ups, but Jostaberry has the RHS/suppliers preference. Why is this when the Casseille seems a better, more productive plant?

Please may I have your thoughts as experienced growers who have experience of both?

Thanks. Gus

Vinlander:
Firstly, Casseille is both expensive and much, much newer (to the UK) than Josta.

Just about anyone who wants a Josta can get a cutting free unless they live on their own island without a boat.

Journals and the RHS are sensitive to a larger audience - and flavour seems to be of minor importance to them (how much are food growers outnumbered by flower freaks? 10 to 1? 100 to 1?).

Niche stuff only becomes news if it has some health angle - especially if married to a convenience angle (no matter how bonkers it turns out to be in the fullness of time).