Allotment Stuff > Allotment Movement

Waiting lists (and what to do about them)

<< < (2/4) > >>

sparrow:
And another reply from (south) London. We're a large self-managed site on lease from the Council. I waited over 5 years for my first plot and the average waiting time at the moment is 3-4 years. We're considering temporary quarter plots as a means to reduce the waiting list or to offer complete newbies a gentler entry into allotmenteering (all plots on site at the moment are half-plots - though the Council counts them individually but that's another matter entirely...) and I've been asked to research how other sites manage them.

So far it's been off-putting, with more disadvantages for the Committee and probably the site than advantages - particularly given the site's run by volunteers, all willing and able, but volunteers nonetheless. I see Charlie Dimmock's waded in on allotment plot sizes. I am betting she hasn't given much of a thought to how the blessed mess would be managed in an age of severely reduced spend & time by Councils and an increasing trend to voluntary-management.

I have 2 half plots - one of which I have split into two to share with a friend. It's rapidly become apparent to both of us that a quarter plot is quickly outgrown if you're keen.

I live in a flat and have no outdoor space at all so I really value the massive benefits the allotment gives me. I commute from south to north London and have quite a stressful job. I did no gardening before I got my allotment, had no knowledge at all and now (3 years on) growing fruit and veg has become so much a part of my life that I would feel completely lost without it now.

markfield rover:
We are in the Midlands and the time on the waiting list is not long at all , but we have found that people have been put off applying as they have been given the impression that all waiting lists are horribly long , this is not the case.

cornykev:
No waiting list in Cheshunt, Herts
Only waited a week or so