Author Topic: curly kale and broccoli  (Read 4300 times)

Borlotti

• Hectare
  • Ryde
curly kale and broccoli
« on: October 15, 2014, 15:52:11 »
curly kale is doing well, from a packet of reduced seeds.  Not sure that we liked it, but read the health benefits, so chopped the stems off and chopped it fine and it tasted good.  Have had it 3 days running as nothing much else, apart from a few courgettes (will be glad when they finish).  The broccoli seems covered in little white insects when I hit the plants, but I will leave it as last year I pulled it up and other peoples seemed to do OK.  Just chucked a few slug pellets around today as it was a bit wet.  Have done well with some things this year so think the allotment has paid for itself, in strawberries, raspberries, beans, peas, courgettes etc. etc. 

small

• Hectare
Re: curly kale and broccoli
« Reply #1 on: October 16, 2014, 15:38:09 »
It's my first time for curly kale, only tried it cos the seeds were free, been a huge success and we absolutely love it. But it takes an age to prepare, first it was the caterpillars hiding in curly bits and now it's the aphids, like a cloud when you shake them, but worth doing for the taste and most especially the texture. To think I've gardened for 40 years and missed such a treat! I don't know how long it lasts, does it go through a mild winter?

AlanO

• Not So New ...
« Reply #2 on: October 16, 2014, 19:01:16 »
We keep our plants under mesh to keep the butterflies and bugs off. The White fly can be kept in check, but not eradicated, with regular blasts of water to the underside of the leaves (useful if you have a gun type nozzle on your hosepipe).

lottie lou

• Hectare
  • Birmingham
« Reply #3 on: October 16, 2014, 19:35:28 »