Author Topic: Raised Beds & Horse Manure  (Read 5531 times)

Dinu

• Not So New ...
Raised Beds & Horse Manure
« on: September 10, 2014, 18:55:42 »
Hi

Last year I got a allotment plot for my elderly parents to help get them some exercise. I'm new to growing fruit and veg but after doing some reading I double dug the entire plot. Given my parents age they found it a little hard to manage the plot. So last week I built them raised beds with the intention of making it easier for them. I have not covered the bottom of the raised beds as many sites recommend as I feel like I would not be utilising the great soil I have created underneath if I did so. So the first question I have is do I really need to cover the bottom of the raised beds when my soil is already really productive underneath?

This leads to my second question. I have ordered a large truck load of horse manure from a local farm. My parent are not able to grow during the winter. So my idea was to put the horse manure on all the beds and cover the beds (apart from those I intend to grow root vegetables on) with black plastic over the winter so it is ready for my parents in the spring. The problem is the manure is not completely composted/rotted down. Do I need to put the manure in one large pile and allow it to compost over winter before adding it to the beds even though there is nothing growing in the beds until next spring. Or as I intended am I OK to put the fresh manure directly in the beds, dig it in, and use the cultivator and then cover the beds up with black plastic until spring. I hoped by then the fresh manure I had dug in would have rotted down. 

I would greatly appreciate some help. Thanks

BarriedaleNick

• Global Moderator
  • Hectare
  • Cartaxo, Portugal
    • Barriedale Allotments
Re: Raised Beds & Horse Manure
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2014, 19:45:15 »
Hi Dinu and welcome to the site!