Author Topic: New allotment  (Read 2081 times)

Cassie17

New allotment
« on: August 05, 2014, 18:34:08 »
I just got an allotment after yrs on waiting list now I'm a complete novice but so willing to learn and not afraid of work but I need advice the weeds are about 4 foot high thistles with huge stalks and nettles just as angry looking how do I go about clearing this please any advice would be so helpful

caroline7758

• Hectare
  • Berwick-upon-Tweed
Re: New allotment
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2014, 19:15:01 »
Hi Cassie, and welcome to the forum. A lot of us have taken on allotments like this. If you look in the Serach for "overgrown", you'll find a lot of advice. The main thing is to not get downhearted. unfortunately at this time of year the weeds are growing madly, but at least that means you can see where they are! If you can get hold of a strimmer, cut them down to ground level, cover with thick cardboard or plastic (some allotments allow carpet but it's not good except for a temporary solution, then tackle a small patch at the time, digging out the roots. You can still sow some veg, and also green manure to improve the soil and keep the weeds down. the rain coming tomorrow should make it easier to dig. Whereabouts are you, by the way?

ancellsfarmer

• Hectare
  • Plot is London clay, rich in Mesozoic fossils
« Reply #2 on: August 05, 2014, 21:16:43 »
Hi Cassie,
Welcome.
Try to workout why there are particular weeds in a given area. Deal a death blow to any that are seeding. Try to cut them down , to wilt at least before they let loose a thousand more. Nettles are a good sign, for they indicate recent fertility in the soil. Be prepared, find a Dock plant first for sting relief! Gloves can help A tightly gripped nettle will not sting, its the waft pasts that get you.
Personally, I would water (not spray ) glysophate