Author Topic: What are your must grow again varieties for 2014?  (Read 10170 times)

sparrow

• Acre
    • mudandgluts
Re: What are your must grow again varieties for 2014?
« Reply #20 on: October 17, 2013, 12:12:22 »
I'm still quite new to all this, but my favourites are chenzo & lemon drop chillies, kent blue pea, purple kohlrabi, lebanese Otto courgette, thelma sanders and potimarron squash. Charlottes and Desiree are also becoming firm 'musts'.

Thanks to a seedaholic moment on the internet, some swaps with a friend and a seed-swap parcel on another forum, my seedbox overfloweth! Lots of new things for next year, including Big Gee's purple runners.

Robert_Brenchley

• Hectare
    • My blog
« Reply #21 on: October 17, 2013, 19:40:40 »
Kent Blue is one of my favourites.

Jeannine

• Hectare
  • Mapleridge BC Canada
« Reply #22 on: October 17, 2013, 21:07:13 »
Robert, I have the broadies dampened on tissue to check for germination, just the unknown one, boy these seeds are big, I don;t think I have ever had a bean this big before, they are a mid brown deed buy ale lightening now they are damp.

Oh and I need your address.

XX Jeannine
When God blesses you with a multitude of seeds double  the blessing by sharing your  seeds with other folks.

Tee Gee

• Hectare
  • Huddersfield - Light humus rich soil
    • The Gardener's Almanac
« Reply #23 on: October 17, 2013, 21:57:47 »
Leek - Oarsman

Stems over a foot long and as thick as my wrist without any particular treatment.

A few of the other plot holders have commented on them!

Sown then pricked out into 3" pots and planted out without sinking / dibbing them in.

Only used a handful of FB&B per square yard at planting out time!

God only knows that had I still been an exhibitor and sleeved them,  I might have got at least two foot of stem.

It's a cracker!

Jeannine

• Hectare
  • Mapleridge BC Canada
« Reply #24 on: October 17, 2013, 23:48:26 »