Author Topic: Any advice on growing WALLFLOWERS? It's my first attempt this year.  (Read 3237 times)

GrannieAnnie

• Hectare
  • in Delaware, USA growing zone 6 or 7
I have a feeling that wallflowers may be grown more in your country; nobody I know grows them here. Any advice? I have a couple seedlings that germinated and would like to grow them along the front walk which only gets AM light and gets very hot in summer. Does this seem feasible?
The handle on your recliner does not qualify as an exercise machine.

small

• Hectare
I don't know if this will help because I don't know what your seasons are like, or how big your plants are....I sow wallflower seeds in summer, grow them on in a spare patch of veg ground, then into final positions in my flower borders in about November. They then flower from about April on. You're supposed to start again every year, but I usually have a few plants that carry on another year. If yours are only seedlings now then they probably won't flower till next year, but it's worth trying. Mine don't get an awful lot of sun but thrive, and they are finished flowering before the hot weather (when we get any).
Hope that's some sort of help! Worth trying - wallflowers are both beautiful and gloriously scented imho.

claybasket

• Hectare
Hi Grannie Anne,wallflowers smell wonderfull ,Clothe of Gold is lovely golden color and smell ,I plant Forget-me-Nots in between, just scatter the seeds ,I sow the wallflowers in pots in spring and position them in the flower beds to flower in the spring ,keep watered in really hot weather,this yr I tryed taking cuttings they are still going  :wave:

Digeroo

• Hectare
  • Cotswolds - Gravel - Alkaline
The nice thing about wall flowers is that they do their thing between the spring bulbs and the summer bedding.  Lovely under a window so the scent fills the house on a sunny evening.