Author Topic: Sheds ownership and eviction  (Read 6472 times)

carroteater

• Not So New ...
Sheds ownership and eviction
« on: March 13, 2013, 13:00:14 »
If an allotment tenant is being evicted from their allotment (not me) and on their plot is a shed they bought and erected in law how long do they have to remove it? I am sure I read a while ago that the allotment association cannot immediately claim ownership of the shed as it is classed as theft. Can anyone enlighten me both to the number of days and which statute it is?

Ellen K

• Hectare
  • Loughborough, Leicestershire
Re: Sheds ownership and eviction
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2013, 13:41:14 »
I am no expert, someone will be along soon to advise.

But ... I took on a plot whose previous tenant was evicted and was told by the Council that the Notice to Quit gave him one month's notice to remove what he wanted and anything left behind was mine.

Unwashed

• Hectare
  • Vexatious, moi?
    • Simon on Facebook
« Reply #2 on: March 13, 2013, 16:20:52 »
It's a bit complicated, but as I understand the situation, when a tenant is evicted any goods that she abandons becomes the property of the landlord, but goods that she doesn't abandon and just leaves behind remain hers.  That's for goods, stuff that isn't goods but is improvements to the plot is the landlord's.

So for example, paving slabs that have been laid, or a pond that has been constructed, because they're now effectively part of the plot, become the landlord's.  I would expect that any plants in the ground are also the landlord's.