Author Topic: Was 2012 really that bad?  (Read 8673 times)

grawrc

• Global Moderator
  • Hectare
  • Edinburgh
Re: Was 2012 really that bad?
« Reply #20 on: February 10, 2013, 20:23:28 »
I thought 2012 was a ghastly year. Yes I had some great crops (along with some spectacular failures) but the weather was foul and gardening wasn't a pleasure. For me it's the doing of it that is most important and that was not good at all.

Robert_Brenchley

• Hectare
    • My blog
« Reply #21 on: February 11, 2013, 19:31:57 »
I had endless problems, and the plot was so waterlogged for a significant part of the year that crops wouldn't grow. My beans went in at the end of May, for instance, and didn't start growing till midsummer. Were the people who did better away from streams?

cudsey

• Half Acre
« Reply #22 on: February 11, 2013, 19:50:41 »
hello. I am a newbie to this forum but thought I would join this chat I live in Barnsley S Yorks I have had my allotment for 8 years did not find 2012 as good as other years especially potatoes but I still have some parsnips in which have been quite good    also leeks and winter cabbage which will hopefully come out this week because I want to start warming the soil ready for some planting - weather permitting
Barnsley S Yorks

galina

• Hectare
  • Johanniskirchen
« Reply #23 on: February 12, 2013, 11:46:41 »
Wasn't THAT bad .................  BUT it definitely wasn't a year for what is called 'warm-weather crops'.  And waterlogging and flooding made even 'cool weather crops' tricky.  Granted, everything that usually suffers because we are so dry (normal years) when my 600 gallons of stored rainwater only goes so far, did well - if it wasn't flooded.  But last year even the courgettes didn't give their usual bounty - and that is saying something.  Outdoor tomato growing was near impossible too.