Author Topic: Total novice (not even got a plot yet!)  (Read 7180 times)

MaidstoneMark

• Not So New ...
  • Mark - newbie lottie-lover in Maidstone
Re: Total novice (not even got a plot yet!)
« Reply #40 on: March 13, 2005, 21:11:42 »
Hi Victoria, btw, & WELCOME!  Glad to see Im not the only novice on here  ;)
Plant & it will grow! (Apparently)

Mrs Ava

• Hectare
« Reply #41 on: March 13, 2005, 23:39:47 »
Great news Mark!  And wow did you work hard for your first visit!!  We told you how friendly us allotmenteers are, but I would just give you one little teeny weeny warning....other lottie holders will probably offer you alsorts of seedlings and plantlets to get you going, just be careful what you plant.  You do not want to inadvertantly plant club root infected brassicas or white rot riddled leeks on your plots - get those diseases and you will have them for years and years and years!  But seeds, whahay!!  Congratulations Mark!

ina

• Hectare
    • My Homepage
« Reply #42 on: March 14, 2005, 16:15:40 »
A big congratulatory virtual hug!
Man oh man, I'm so happy for you.
Now you'll just have to borrow a digital camera. With so many people rooting for you it's time to show and tell hehehe.
You can now call yourself an allotmenteer.
All the best of luck.

Moggle

• Hectare
  • My island home is waiting for me
« Reply #43 on: March 14, 2005, 16:22:43 »
Well done you  :D

the soil is really very clay-ey (is that a real word???!)

Of course it's a real word ;D Well I've used it before anyway  ;D

I have clay soil too, and the remedy is lots of organic matter, and apparently then you're laughing, as the clay particles hold on to the nutrients better than most other soil types. So get yourself some poo or compost, or get some green manure going  :)
« Last Edit: March 14, 2005, 16:25:36 by Moggle »
Lottie-less until I can afford a house with it's own garden.

wardy

• Hectare
« Reply #44 on: March 14, 2005, 17:17:31 »