Author Topic: What Can i Put in my Greenhouse During the Winter  (Read 5807 times)

keejaay

• Quarter Acre
What Can i Put in my Greenhouse During the Winter
« on: September 26, 2012, 16:49:11 »
Hi Everyone

This is my First year with a greenhouse on my allotment and now the tomatoes have nearly finished i am thinking about some winter veg but need advice on what to plant - it is a standard 6x4 and i already have a parrafin heater ready for the cold nights -- i have had wonderful advice from everyone since i joined this site and know i can get some sound advice on this subject --

davyw1

• Hectare
  • I love My Country
Re: What Can i Put in my Greenhouse During the Winter
« Reply #1 on: September 28, 2012, 15:44:42 »
My advice would not to put anything in over winter, i know its nice to be able to get some fresh stuff during the winter months but it can be inconvenient when you come to cleaning and sterilizing the GH. If you have a soil base for growing in the soil is not open to the ellements you get a build up of salts and minerals so it should be flushed through or changed, You should change the soil every three years anyway.
When you wake up on a morning say "good morning world" and be grateful

DAVY

Duke Ellington

• Hectare
« Reply #2 on: September 28, 2012, 17:27:41 »
I always put in some winter lettuce, salad leaves and radishes in  containers.  Keep the door open during the day though as mould etc can be a problem. The above two are such fast crops that there is always time to sterilize before the new growing season begins.
dont be fooled by the name I am a Lady!! :-*

davee52uk

• Acre
« Reply #3 on: October 20, 2012, 20:33:10 »
I have Winter Lettuce and Spring Onions. I have also grown Chicory in the past but have gone off the flavour. Also growing the same things in cloches out side.

This way I can get more or less get lettuce all the year round.

Aden Roller

• Hectare
  • Sussex near the sea
« Reply #4 on: October 20, 2012, 20:43:49 »