Author Topic: New allotment size advice.  (Read 4898 times)

deckchairblue

• Not So New ...
New allotment size advice.
« on: August 18, 2012, 08:16:18 »
Hi all, I'm a newbie and have been offered 4 plots in Lincoln.

From general research they all seem absolutely massive !

the 4 are sized at: 1 of 609sq yards, 1 of 583sq yards and 2 that are 540sq yards.
They are all available as either the full plot, or the size as a half plot.

My main questions are, do these sizes seem very big by common standards, and as a newbie would experienced members recommend taking a full or half plot (the full plots work out at around £7 more than the half plots)

thanks in advice for your help and advice

BarriedaleNick

• Global Moderator
  • Hectare
  • Cartaxo, Portugal
    • Barriedale Allotments
Re: New allotment size advice.
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2012, 08:47:09 »
If I am working this out correctly then that (6oosq yards) is around 20 pole which is a big plot as generally 10 pole is considered a full sized plot.
My plot is only 5 pole and although I could do with more space I am not sure I would be able to cope with something 4 times as big but I do tend to have to go to work quite a lot!!
If you are a complete newbie 20 pole may be too much but if you fall for the allotment life then you may find (with time) that you want the extra space.
I guess it depends how much time do you have on your hands and the state of the plots.  Also can you upgrade from a half to a full plot later?
Moved to Portugal - ain't going back!

Buster54

• Acre
« Reply #2 on: August 18, 2012, 08:50:18 »
Always take a full plot is my advice,once you've stuck a couple of fruit trees and fruit bushes-shed greenhouse-polytunnel-flower patch-manure/compost heaps-water butts you will still have room for veg,not to mention if you can make a little parking space  ;)
I'm not the Messiah - I'm a very naughty boy."

deckchairblue

• Not So New ...
« Reply #3 on: August 18, 2012, 08:59:32 »