Author Topic: Showing apples  (Read 1362 times)

Kea

• Hectare
Showing apples
« on: August 22, 2012, 17:22:08 »
I've got a problem. I'm planning to put some of my apples in our local produce show along with other stuff but my stuff keeps getting stolen off my allotment. I lost my 5 biggest onions...I won that last year. I thought my apples were safe as this is my first year with apples my bramley has 11 on it. Our show is just friendly fun rivalry and good natured or at least I thought so until the last few weeks. There is someone who holds grudges and I've beaten this individual in a number of classes in the last 2 years. Overnight the single apple on one of my other trees (one that's very important as I needed the apple to identify the variety which I grafted from my MIL's tree) whoever did it had to walk past the bramley tree to get to it so it looks like a threat.

The question is our show is a week and a half away, if I harvest the apples now will they look past it by the time I show them. Option 2 is harvesting my 2nd best as a safety net. I haven't sent my entry in yet as everytime I go to do something else disappears.
My squash plant that appeared to have the biggest fruit on it suddenly yellowed off like it had been treated with weedkiller. Fortunately the large fruit is not actually on that one it's vine is twined through the affected one and a quick glance looks like it's the other plant.
I'm quite frankly sick of all these little incidents of sabotage I've been getting over the last 18 months beginning with weedkiller watered on my damson tree.

Robert_Brenchley

• Hectare
    • My blog
Re: Showing apples
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2012, 18:13:42 »
That's appalling!

Kea

• Hectare
« Reply #2 on: August 22, 2012, 18:25:57 »
Thanks Robert.
I need a bit of support I'm at a low ebb.