Author Topic: composting help needed pls  (Read 5309 times)

tas

• Not So New ...
  • took this pic after nearly 2 weeks starting work
composting help needed pls
« on: June 18, 2012, 21:47:59 »
hi every one
as i have posted before i got my allotment on 2nd may.
and i am new to growing and looking after it all so hear i am asking for help again!!! ???

i have 2 compost bins:
                                1> is a wooden and i have put grass, cardboard,old plants.houseold green rubbish etc

2> is a black plastic bin with samethings in it

they are nearly both full!!!

i don't have any more grass and old plants!!

i can take cardboard and houseold greenrubish to put in
pls explain to me should i stop topping them up when they are nearly full.
and can i top them up when the mixer goes down. or i cover it up and leave it alone for long time !!

will the top layer not be composted and the bottom will be done.....am so confused to what to do to it next!!!

antipodes

• Hectare
  • W. France, 5m x 20m (900 ft2)
    • My allotment blog
Re: composting help needed pls
« Reply #1 on: June 19, 2012, 08:48:07 »
OK, I can only say how I do compost. I put in everything I can: all my organic household waste goes in, all the grass etc from the plot and any weeds I rot down in black plastic bags before adding them. So there is quite a mixture. Normally they will actually settile down and the contents will gradually reduce. So even if they seem chockablock, they will reduce over a couple of weeks. Now the worms and beasties ar at the bottom. Personally I do not stir my compost but some people do. I do not find that this helps.