Author Topic: Home Brewers?  (Read 21422 times)

Uncle Joshua

• Hectare
    • nikkershaw.net
Home Brewers?
« on: February 24, 2012, 21:26:59 »
Are there any homebrewers on the forum?

I started brewing kits just over a year ago but switched to all grain a few months ago and have so far brewed 18 AG recipes.

Melbourne12

• Global Moderator
  • Hectare
  • Harrow, Middx
    • Allotmenteering Blog
Re: Home Brewers?
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2012, 21:43:54 »
We're rather sporadic home brewers, I'm afraid.  Didn't make any at all last year, but I normally make something quaffable for the hot summer days.

You can't beat real malted grains, which aren't that much more of a faff if you've got a decent thermostat.  Difficult to do pilsner type lagers, though, unless you've got serious cooling for the conditioning stage.

One of my favourites is a simple refreshing brown ale, not too high in alcohol.  Roll on summer!

Uncle Joshua

• Hectare
    • nikkershaw.net
« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2012, 21:48:09 »
I tend to do hoppy ales, kind of IPA's, I brewed today using a single hop for the third time on the bounce but today's was a darker beer than my normal brews.

I think I'm at a point where I enjoy being able to make good beer more than I enjoy drinking it.

powerspade

• Hectare
« Reply #3 on: February 25, 2012, 21:41:34 »
I brew country wines  and have been at it for 16yrs.
Parsnip. Runner bean, Pea pod, Blackcurrant, Redcurrant, Goosegog, Rhubarb, Blackberry and Gorse wines

Uncle Joshua

• Hectare
    • nikkershaw.net
« Reply #4 on: February 26, 2012, 21:28:03 »
I brew country wines  and have been at it for 16yrs.
Parsnip. Runner bean, Pea pod, Blackcurrant, Redcurrant, Goosegog, Rhubarb, Blackberry and Gorse wines

Do you ever brew from kits? they are amazing these days.

OllieC

• Global Moderator
  • Hectare
  • Nairn
« Reply #5 on: February 26, 2012, 22:05:02 »