Author Topic: Allotment club meetings  (Read 3357 times)

Steve.

• Half Acre
    • The Nook
Allotment club meetings
« on: January 31, 2012, 13:12:16 »
I dont think our new club is doing things correctly, and I would like your thoughts about this. We have had 4 meetings so far and I am the secretary.

1. General unchaired meeting of plot holders to decide "if we need/want a club". Answer was yes and a chairman/secretary was proposed.
2. First General meeting, Officers voted in Chairman, Secretary and Treasurer, constitution decided and details for name and banking decided. I took the minutes for this meeting.
3 First Committee meeting (here is where to my mind it starts getting screwy) I was asked to read through the minutes for the first general meeting so they could be accepted (which I did as I'm new to this) I also took minutes for this committee meeting too.
4. Second General meeting and for the minutes acceptance I was asked to read out the minutes for the first committee meeting. I asked the chair that I was prepared with the minutes from the first general meeting, so the chair read through the committe meeting minutes instead, this to my mind was incorrect and it threw me a massive curve ball (as I said I'm new to this). The chairs reading of the incorrect minutes allowed much conversation among the group, so much so that it became the actual meeting itself, completely disregarding that meetings agenda...because of the thingy up...I was not taking notes for the minutes...subsequently no minutes where taken for the whole meeting.

When it came to the Secretarys report (my bit) the chair said "Ok, secretarys report....I think I've just read most of what he was going to say" and he moved on.