Author Topic: is it too early for sowing Butternut Harriers  (Read 2377 times)

Bebushman

• Not So New ...
is it too early for sowing Butternut Harriers
« on: February 02, 2012, 09:42:22 »
Very new to growing veg but was wondering if it was too early to start sowing butternut indoors. The Packet say I can start but with the English the weather as it is, Any Advise welcome,
Aaron

small

• Hectare
Re: is it too early for sowing Butternut Harriers
« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2012, 09:45:55 »
I'm not a squash expert - I'm sure one will be along in  minute! - but I'd say, far too early, you can't put them out till risk of frost is past (assuming they are going outdoors?), I sow in April at the earliest. Where exactly are you, that helps with detailed advice......

saddad

• Hectare
  • Derby, Derbyshire (Strange, but true!)
« Reply #2 on: February 02, 2012, 09:50:22 »
Mid April...  :-X

Bebushman

• Not So New ...
« Reply #3 on: February 02, 2012, 09:51:09 »
Yeah sorry im in Hoddesdon in Hertfordshire, would be sowing indoors, then to green house and was planning after the frost to plant at the allotment.
thanks again,
Aaron

antipodes

• Hectare
  • W. France, 5m x 20m (900 ft2)
    • My allotment blog
« Reply #4 on: February 02, 2012, 14:07:36 »
In UK you won't get those in open ground until at least mid May (earlier if you are growing in a greenhouse). They grow very fast! Once they have 3 or 4 leaves you are Ok to put them out! I now don't bother pre-growing. I direct sow in  May and they romp away. So I am thinking more around end of April!
2012 - Snow in February, non-stop rain till July. Blight and rot are rife. Thieving voles cause strife. But first runner beans and lots of greens. Follow an English allotment in urban France: http://roos-and-camembert.blogspot.com

shirlton

• Hectare
  • west midlands
« Reply #5 on: February 02, 2012, 15:38:56 »
Heres a ryme that some one on here sent to me in 2006 when I first joined and I asked the very same question