Author Topic: Germinating peas and Sweetcorn help please..  (Read 7903 times)

gavinjconway

• Hectare
    • GavinConway.net - Our Allotment
Germinating peas and Sweetcorn help please..
« on: January 28, 2012, 21:12:10 »
I am new to these and need some help please..

Early Pea - Dwarf Hatif d'Annonay.. I'm told to start them in mid Feb. I will do these in toilet rolls and plant out when ready.
Q. Do I soak seeds overnight before sowing in the rolls?
Q2. When I do the main crop direct in the plot do I soak in paraffin for the mice?

Early and late Sweetcorn in toilet rolls.
Q. Do I soak overnight before sowing - or what method to get good germination? I want to sow in the home and GH so I get a good germination.

Thanks - Your help will be appreciated as always.
Now a member of the 10 Ton club.... (over 10 ton per acre)    2013  harvested 588 Kg from 165 sq mt..      see my web blog at...  http://www.gavinconway.net

saddad

• Hectare
  • Derby, Derbyshire (Strange, but true!)
Re: Germinating peas and Sweetcorn help please..
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2012, 21:31:38 »
Hi Gavin,

I would soak the peas for2-4 hours only... not overnight
and if mice are a problem lay glass on the soil until the shoots show.. then prop up with a brick on one side then the other...
Sweetcorn... don't soak the seeds at all, you can soak the tubes. Sow very shallow as many need light to germinate well...

:-\

plainleaf

• Hectare
« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2012, 22:16:04 »
i soak both in room temp water 4 hours then plant. the only difference is i dust the pea  seed with Pea and Bean Inoculant. before planting

Kleftiwallah

• Acre
« Reply #3 on: January 29, 2012, 12:31:51 »

Planting peas into toilet rolls is too fiddly, fill up yard lengths of guttering with compost and plant them in there, sliding the seedlings into a pre prepared dip in the soil when ready.