Author Topic: Wasting water  (Read 5673 times)

Catherine F

• Not So New ...
Re: Wasting water
« Reply #20 on: August 08, 2011, 10:12:16 »
I know this is probably going to seem a very silly question - but in my defense I am new to veg growing!  How do you mulch and what with?  We have a large plot (well it's large in our eyes) and watering has been an issue for us this year.

tog

• Not So New ...
« Reply #21 on: August 08, 2011, 10:41:40 »
You can mulch with well rotted compost. Straw may do as well, but it will deplete nitrogen as it rot down I think.

Catherine F

• Not So New ...
« Reply #22 on: August 08, 2011, 10:43:46 »
hmm, my compost isn't that well rotted yet, would horse manure do the same thing?  At the moment I'm spreading rotted horse muck on top of the soil that being cleared, ready for digging in/rotivating at a later stage.

tog

• Not So New ...
« Reply #23 on: August 08, 2011, 10:55:44 »
hmm, my compost isn't that well rotted yet, would horse manure do the same thing?  At the moment I'm spreading rotted horse muck on top of the soil that being cleared, ready for digging in/rotivating at a later stage.

I should think that would be fine.

antipodes

• Hectare
  • W. France, 5m x 20m (900 ft2)
    • My allotment blog
« Reply #24 on: August 09, 2011, 11:07:11 »
You can mulch with a variety of things - straw is OK now, it won't rot just yet and you can always enrich that patch with manure over the winter. I get mine from a pony club so it is always full of manure and horse wee so seems overall to be a good addition.
Also you can use shredded paper (like from an office shredder), grass clippings, or even just hoe your weeds and leave them to dry on the surface if you can tolerate that. That provides a protective layer.
2012 - Snow in February, non-stop rain till July. Blight and rot are rife. Thieving voles cause strife. But first runner beans and lots of greens. Follow an English allotment in urban France: http://roos-and-camembert.blogspot.com